Artificial Intelligence meets character

How AI revolutionises the relation to the car

Ask Mercedes

Take a seat in the car and let your eye wander over the still-unfamiliar cockpit. Is there a control that is not immediately obvious as to what it does or a function you cannot find straight away? Just Ask Mercedes. Daimler is enhancing communication with additional digital channels, making leafing through operating instructions, handbooks or quick start guides a thing of the past. The ‘Ask Mercedes’ application ensures that every user gets their bearings in the vehicle quickly. The virtual assistant is activated by voice, using a smartphone keyboard or camera. A system comprising artificial intelligence (AI) and augmented reality (AR) running in the background then ensures that even a modern car with its numerous functions, possible configurations and assistance systems can be understood at the drop of a hat.

The concept

More functions, less complexity

The idea for this chatbot application was born during Digital Life Day 2016. The aim of Daimler’s in-house format is to identify trends and digital topics. Employees are encouraged to present and submit their ideas in a mix of an ideas exchange and workshop. The participants identified the chatbot concept as a modern way of making it easier for customers to interact with their vehicles. Vehicles, which offer an ever-increasing number of functions, thus also making them more complicated.

Everything then happened very quickly following the Digital Life Day: A so-called minimum viable product (MVP) was developed to test the feasibility and the acceptance of the chatbot. At the end of the MVP phase, the participants were certain that chatbots could ensure Mercedes-Benz customers get to know and experience their vehicle in a completely new way. The experts then added another future trend to the concept – augmented reality. The functionalities of Ask Mercedes are built on these two pillars.

The benefit

Daimler is positioning Ask Mercedes precisely on a customer pain point. The range of functions in vehicles and the supplementary service offer is continuously increasing. That’s why it is becoming more and more important to engage in a close dialogue with customers. The company wants customers to be able to inform themselves and get answers to unresolved issues anytime and anywhere. The first step of this process should be as simple and interesting as possible for the user. This is why additional quick start guides and tutorial videos are available on the website alongside the detailed operating instructions. Ask Mercedes is not replacing the previous sources of information, it is simply providing the driver with another way of getting to know their vehicle. The application is a new, interactive addition to the options for communicating with customers.

This eliminates the need to search through pre-set structures such as alphabetised lists. Instead, Ask Mercedes always puts the needs of the customer and their situation first by giving them the exact information they need at that specific moment whilst remaining both charming and informative.

The project

In April 2017, Daimler and adesso set about developing this infrastructure. They released the first iOS version of an app just seven months later. In this short period of time, they together established the technical foundations, developed the application and coordinated the content creation process.

To kick off the Ask Mercedes project, the experts from Daimler and adesso chose IBM Watson as the AI basis and decided on components from Vuforia for the AR side. But this technology is just one aspect of Ask Mercedes. The team was faced with the challenge of giving an artificial intelligence a personality.

“We wanted to develop a system that doesn’t just provide information but is also just fun and encourages the customers to engage in a dialogue.”

Stefan Hussmann, Director of the Automotive and Transportation Line of Business at adesso AG
adesso AG

The chatbot

A chatbot with charm

Ask Mercedes is not just a pure information system. Interacting with the app should feel natural, be it via speech or text. This means the user should forget that they are communicating with a chatbot rather than a person.

The idea is that the chatbot does not simply display sections from the manual that might fit the search. It should be a knowledgeable chatbot having a conversion with a driver about their car.

The fact that Ask Mercedes comes across this way is down to the attention to detail displayed by the team during the development of the ‘Mercedes’ chatbot personality.

The team first designed a complete personality profile. The chatbot was then fed with facts about the car and taught to find the correct answers to the most important questions. To do this, information from every department involved was gathered, which the team then made compatible with the app. At the same time, the participants initially collected around 6,000 customer responses and analysed queries sent to the Daimler Customer Contact Center over the course of just under a year. This gave the team a detailed insight into the information needs of the customers

The result

While this took place, the participants set about breathing life into the personality profile. After all, it is important that Ask Mercedes’ unique personality also shines through in the way it answers, sometimes with a wink, sometimes with a bit of attitude. “A lot of users began to grill the app a little bit after they had asked the first few technical questions,” says Stefan Hussmann. As part of the conversational user experience concept, adesso hired scriptwriters to come up with the most creative and surprising answers possible for Ask Mercedes to give in this situation. Just a hint: Ask about the lottery numbers.

Contact

Do you have any questions about AI?

Are you wondering what possibilities AI can open up in your company? Would you like to learn more about its applications and the technology? We cannot give you a pack full of stock responses, but we can share with you our specialist knowledge, our curiosity about your company and our passion for technology.

We would be delighted to talk to you.

Contact

AI Process Model

The AI Process Model: Building AI-based Systems

Developing data-driven AI applications requires a different project structure and expertise than traditional IT solutions. Our "Building AI-based System" fulfill these differences. Coming soon ...

Read more

Künstliche Intelligenz trifft auf echten Charakter

Wie KI die Beziehung zum Auto revolutioniert

Ask Mercedes

Im Auto Platz nehmen und den Blick über das noch ungewohnte Cockpit schweifen lassen. Und falls ein Bedienelement nicht sofort klar ist oder eine Funktion nicht direkt gefunden wird: einfach Ask Mercedes fragen. Wo bisher das Blättern in Betriebsanleitungen, Handbüchern oder Kurzanleitungen die Regel war, erweitert Daimler die Kommunikation um weitere digitale Kanäle. Die Anwendung „Ask Mercedes“ sorgt dafür, dass sich jeder Nutzer schnell im Fahrzeug zurechtfindet. Angesprochen wird die virtuelle Helferin mit der Stimme, mithilfe der Smartphone-Tastatur oder -Kamera. Im Hintergrund sorgt dann ein System aus Künstlicher Intelligenz (K I) und Augmented Reality (AR) dafür, dass auch ein modernes Auto mit unzähligen Funktionen, Einstellungsmöglichkeiten und Assistenzsystemen im Handumdrehen verständlich wird.

Die Idee

Mehr Funktionen, trotzdem weniger Komplexität

Entstanden ist die Idee für diese Chatbot-Anwendung während des Digital Life Day 2016. Das Daimler-eigene Format dient dem Aufspüren von Trends und digitalen Themen. Bei dieser Mischung aus Ideenbörse und Workshop werden Mitarbeiter dazu aufgefordert, ihre Ideen einzureichen und vorzustellen. Im Chatbot-Konzept erkannten die Beteiligten einen zeitgemäßen Weg, Kunden den Umgang mit Fahrzeugen zu erleichtern. Fahrzeugen, die immer mehr Funktionen bieten und so auch immer komplexer werden.

Im Anschluss an den Digital Life Day ging es ganz schnell: Um die Funktionsfähigkeit und die Akzeptanz des Chatbots zu testen, wurde ein sogenanntes Minium Viable Product (MVP) entwickelt. Am Ende der MVP-Phase stand für die Beteiligten fest: Chatbots können dafür sorgen, dass Mercedes-Benz-Kunden ihr Fahrzeug auf ganz neue Art kennenlernen und erleben. Die Experten ergänzten das Konzept dann um einen weiteren Zukunftstrend: Augmented Reality. Auf diesen beiden Säulen sind die Funktionen von Ask Mercedes aufgebaut.

Der Nutzen

Daimler positioniert Ask Mercedes genau an einem Pain Point der Kunden. Die Funktionsvielfalt der Fahrzeuge und des ergänzenden Serviceangebotes nimmt stetig zu. Deshalb wird es immer wichtiger, in einem engen Dialog mit den Kunden zu stehen. Das Unternehmen will ihnen jederzeit und überall die Möglichkeit geben, sich zu informieren und Antworten auf offene Fragen zu erhalten. Für die Nutzer sollen die ersten Schritte mit ihrem Fahrzeug so einfach und interessant wie möglich sein. So sind neben der ausführlichen Betriebsanleitung weitere Kurzanleitungen oder Erklärvideos auf der Website verfügbar. Ask Mercedes löst die bisherigen Informationsmöglichkeiten nicht ab, sondern bietet dem Fahrer eine weitere Möglichkeit, sein Fahrzeug kennenzulernen. Die Anwendung ergänzt die Kundenkommunikation um eine neue, interaktive Option.

Das Suchen in vorgegebenen Strukturen wie alphabetisch sortierten Registern entfällt. Stattdessen stellt Ask Mercedes die Anforderungen des Kunden und seine Situation konsequent in den Mittelpunkt. Er bekommt genau die Informationen, die er konkret im Moment braucht – und das auch noch informativ und charmant.

Das Projekt

Im April 2017 machten sich Daimler und adesso daran, diese Infrastruktur zu entwickeln. Nur sieben Monate später veröffentlichten sie die erste iOS-Version einer App. In diesem kurzen Zeitraum schufen sie gemeinsam die technischen Grundlagen, entwickelten die Anwendung und koordinierten den Prozess der Content-Erstellung.

Für den Start von Ask Mercedes wählten die Experten von Daimler und adesso IBM Watson als KI-Basis und setzten beim Thema AR auf Komponenten von Vuforia. Aber diese Technik ist nur ein Aspekt von Ask Mercedes. Das Team stand vor der Aufgabe, einer künstlichen Intelligenz Persönlichkeit zu geben.

„Wir wollten ein System entwickeln, das nicht nur Informationen liefert, sondern auch einfach Spaß macht und den Kunden ermutigt, in den Dialog zu treten.“

Stefan Hussmann, Leiter Line of Business Automotive & Transportation
adesso AG

Der Chatbot

Chatbot mit Charme

Ask Mercedes ist nicht nur ein reines Informationssystem. Die Interaktion mit der App – sei es das gesprochene oder geschriebene Wort – soll sich natürlich anfühlen. So soll der Anwender vergessen, dass hinter den Antworten kein Mensch steckt, sondern ein Chatbot.

Die Idee ist, dass nicht einfach Passagen aus dem Handbuch abgebildet werden, die ungefähr passen könnten. Es soll sich ein kompetenter Chatbot mit einem Fahrer über sein Auto unterhalten.

Dass Ask Mercedes so rüberkommt, ist der Liebe zum Detail zu verdanken, die das Team bei der Entwicklung der Chatbot-Persönlichkeit „Mercedes“ an den Tag legte.

Das Team entwarf erst ein vollständiges Persönlichkeitsprofil. Dann galt es, den Chatbot mit Fakten rund um das Auto zu füttern und die richtigen Antworten auf die wichtigsten Fragen zu finden. Dazu trugen alle beteiligten Abteilungen Informationen zusammen, die das Team dann App-kompatibel aufbereitete. Gleichzeitig sammelten die Beteiligten initial über 6.000 Rückmeldungen von Kunden und analysierten über den Zeitraum von knapp einem Jahr Anfragen an das Daimler Customer Contact Center. So bekam das Team einen detaillierten Einblick in das Informationsbedürfnis von Kunden.

Das Ergebnis

Parallel dazu machten sich die Beteiligten daran, das Persönlichkeitsprofil mit Leben zu füllen. Denn in der Art und Weise, wie Ask Mercedes Fragen beantwortet – mal mit einem Augenzwinkern versehen, mal mit einem frechen Spruch – soll immer auch ihre besondere Persönlichkeit durchschimmern. „Nach den ersten technischen Fragen fangen viele Anwender an, der App ein wenig auf den Zahn zu fühlen“, weiß Stefan Hussmann zu berichten. adesso engagierte im Rahmen der sogenannten Conversational-User-Experience-Konzeption Drehbuchautoren, um hier möglichst kreative und überraschende Antworten für Ask Mercedes zu finden. Kleiner Tipp: die Frage nach den Lottozahlen.

Kontakt

Sie haben Fragen zum Thema Künstliche Intelligenz?

Sie überlegen, welche Möglichkeiten KI Ihrem Unternehmen eröffnen kann? Sie wollen mehr über Anwendungsfälle und Technik erfahren? Wir haben keine Standardantworten im Gepäck – aber wir bringen unser Fachwissen, unsere Neugier auf Ihr Geschäft und unsere Leidenschaft für Technologie mit. Wir freuen uns darauf, mit Ihnen ins Gespräch zu kommen.

Kontakt

KI-Studie

Die KI-Studie: eine Bestandsaufnahme zwischen Möglichkeiten, Maßnahmen und Misstrauen

Über 320 Unternehmensentscheider und 1.000 Endkunden gaben uns einen Einblick in ihre Vorstellungen, Vorurteile und Vorhaben rund um KI. Der KI-Report „Eine Bestandsaufnahme“ fasst die zentralen Ergebnisse zusammen.

Mehr erfahren

KI-Vorgehens- modell

Das KI-Vorgehensmodell: Building AI-based Systems

Das Entwickeln datengetriebener KI-Anwendungen benötigt im Vergleich zu klassischen IT-Lösungen eine andere Projektstruktur und ein anderes Fachwissen der Beteiligten. Unser Ansatz des „Building AI-based Systems“ wird diesen Unterschieden gerecht.

Mehr erfahren